Interest Rates in the European Union

Here are the base interest rates for countries in the European Union plus additionally those in the European Economic Area and Switzerland (as of June 5, 2018),

Austria 0%
Belgium 0%
Bulgaria 0%
Croatia 2.5%
Cyprus 0%
Czech Republic 0.75%
Denmark -0.65%
Estonia 0%
Finland 0%
France 0%
Germany 0%
Greece 0%
Hungary 0.9%
Iceland 4.25%
Ireland 0%
Italy 0%
Latvia 0%
Lithuania 0%
Luxembourg 0%
Malta 0%
Netherlands 0%
Norway 0.5%
Poland 1.5%
Portugal 0%
Romania 2.5%
Slovakia 0%
Slovenia 0%
Spain 0%
Sweden -0.5%
Switzerland -0.75%
United Kingdom 0.5%

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 28 countries. It operates an internal (or single) market which allows free movement of goods, capital, services and people between member states.

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

The European Economic Area (EEA): The EEA includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It allows them to be part of the EU’s single market.

Switzerland is neither an EU nor EEA member but is part of the single market.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.